Search Resolutions

  • CJ VandeWalle named Rough Rider Award winner North Dakota Chief Justice Gerald VandeWalle was named the 41st recipient of the North Dakota Theodore Roosevelt Rough Rider Award. read more
  • Can conservative women be feminists? Washington Post Opinion Writer Kathleen Parker discusses South Carolina Chief Justice Jean Toal's fight for feminism in "Can conservative women be feminists?" read more
  • Delaware lawyers, judges stage 'Miracle on 34th' scene After 30 minutes of dramatic testimony, Delaware Supreme Court Justice James T. Vaughn Jr. cleared his throat and rendered his verdict to a packed courtroom. read more
  • Registration open for 2015 Midyear Meeting Register today for CCJ's 2015 Midyear Meeting, held from January 24-28, 2015, in San Antonio, Texas. Once registration is complete, start planning your schedule by viewing the education program and social events. read more
Conference of Chief Justices



The Conference of Chief Justices (CCJ) was founded in 1949 to provide an opportunity for the highest judicial officers of the states to meet and discuss matters of importance in improving the administration of justice, rules and methods of procedure, and the organization and operation of state courts and judicial systems, and to make recommendations and bring about improvements on such matters.

Membership in the Conference of Chief Justices consists of the highest judicial officer of the fifty states, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, and the territories of American Samoa, Guam and the Virgin Islands. The Conference of Chief Justices is governed by a Board of Directors and has several standing, temporary and special committees to assist the Conference in meeting its objectives. In 1983, the Board of Directors voted to adopt a non-profit corporate form of organization.

Through resolutions, committees, and special task forces, CCJ has addressed such issues as federalism legislation, including mass torts, class actions, and the Trade legislation; violence against women; development of problem-solving courts, privacy and access to court records, self-represented litigation; the handling of child abuse and neglect cases; victims' rights; and DNA and competence of counsel.